Jobprofile
Calculation engineer (m/f/d)

You are looking for the right calculation engineer for your company?

Calculation engineers: optimising developments by means of simulation calculations

Calculation engineers use simulation software to carry out computational experiments. Based on the related results, they evaluate existing systems and make precise statements about, for instance, the resilience of materials or the stability of structures. These results also allow a reduction of the required working time and costs, an optimisation of the quality of the practical measurements and an acceleration of the development processes.

Which opportunities do calculation engineers have on the labour market?

Calculation engineers often require an academic degree in a field related to the industry they work in, e.g. in vehicle engineering, automation technology, electrical engineering, food technology or chemical engineering. Moreover, they can further develop their skills and qualifications by completing a postgraduate study programme in mechanical engineering, civil engineering or, again, electrical engineering. In the automotive, chemical, electronics and pharmaceutical industry, calculation engineers currently have the best prospects. Learn more about the areas calculation engineers can work in!

What are the tasks and responsibilities of calculation engineers?

Calculation engineers have a broad range of different tasks. They simulate and analyse all types of product developments and optimisations by means of specific digital simulation technology and are responsible for theoretical analyses. Therefore, they play a significant role in the improvement of developments and the design of more secure and durable products.

Furthermore, they document measurements, evaluate and analyse results and use these results to develop and coordinate solutions for technical problems with customers, suppliers and production employees.

  • Preparation and execution of digital simulations and calculations
  • Evaluation of results
  • Presentation and discussion of the results with the responsible specialist departments
  • Documentation
  • Development of technical solutions to meet specific customer requirements

Which hard skills and soft skills should calculation engineers have?

Calculation engineers should not only possess technical expertise but also a good command of the common simulation and 3D visualisation software. Besides, they require good communication skills and very good German and English skills to be able to properly communicate with different specialist departments.
Flexibility and a structured and independent way of working belong to the soft skills calculation engineers should have.

  • Good problem-solving skills based on an analytical way of thinking
  • A good command of Office applications
  • Quality awareness
  • Organisational talent
  • Team spirit

What is the average salary of calculation engineers?

In Germany, the average annual salary of calculation engineers is between EUR 42,000 and EUR 52,800, with starting salaries amounting to between EUR 36,000 and EUR 45,000 per year. Experienced calculation engineers, on the contrary, have an average gross annual salary of between EUR 60,000 and EUR 79,000.

Find your dream job in the engineering area – with Hays

As a calculation engineer, you apply your expertise in exciting work environments. You carry out computational experiments by means of simulation software and promote the technical development of your company.
We help you get a promising job in the engineering area. Learn more about the benefits of finding a job with Hays!
Relevant contract types

  • Permanent employment
  • Contracting/freelance work
  • Temporary employment
  • Workforce management

Jobprofil
Berechnungsingenieur (m/w/d)

Sie suchen den passenden Berechnungsingenieur?

Berechnungsingenieur: Entwicklungen durch Simulationsrechnungen optimieren

Als Berechnungsingenieur führen Sie mittels Simulationssoftware rechnerische Experimente durch. Auf Basis der Ergebnisse bewerten Sie reale Systeme und treffen beispielsweise präzise Aussagen über die Belastbarkeit eines Materials oder die Stabilität einer Konstruktion. Durch Ihre Ergebnisse werden der Zeitaufwand, der Kostenfaktor und die Qualität der praktischen Messungen optimiert und Entwicklungen beschleunigt.

Die aktuellen Perspektiven für eine Karriere als Berechnungsingenieur

Für die Karriere als Berechnungsingenieur wird von vielen Arbeitgebern ein abgeschlossenes Studium im Fachgebiet der jeweiligen Branche vorausgesetzt. Hier bieten sich vor allem die Studiengänge Fahrzeugtechnik, Automatisierungstechnik, Elektrotechnik, Lebensmitteltechnologie oder Chemieingenieurwesen an. Weiterqualifizieren kann sich ein angehender Berechnungsingenieur durch ein Master-Studium in den Bereichen Maschinenbau, Bauingenieurwesen oder Elektrotechnik. Besonders gut sind die Perspektiven auf dem Arbeitsmarkt derzeit in der Automotive- und Chemie-Branche, der Elektronik sowie der Pharmazie. Informieren Sie sich jetzt über die einzelnen Bereiche für Berechnungsingenieure!

Dies sind die Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten von Berechnungsingenieuren

Die Aufgaben eines Berechnungsingenieurs sind vielfältig. Er simuliert und analysiert mittels spezieller digitaler Simulationstechniken sämtliche Formen der Produktentwicklung oder Produktoptimierung. Durch seine theoretischen Analysen trägt er maßgeblich zur Optimierung von Entwicklungen bei und hilft noch dazu, Produkte sicherer und langlebiger zu gestalten.

Neben der Dokumentation der Messungen gehören auch die Auswertung und Analyse der Ergebnisse zum Berufsalltag eines Berechnungsingenieurs. Auf Basis der Ergebnisse entwickelt er Lösungen für technische Probleme und stimmt diese mit Kunden, Lieferanten oder der Produktion ab.

  • Vorbereitung und Durchführung von digitalen Simulationen und Berechnungen
  • Bewertung der Ergebnisse
  • Präsentation und Diskussion der Ergebnisse mit den verantwortlichen Fachabteilungen
  • Dokumentation
  • Erarbeitung von technischen Lösungen für spezielle Kundenanforderungen

Diese Hard Skills und Soft Skills sollte ein Berechnungsingenieur mitbringen

Neben technischem Fachwissen ist für den Job als Berechnungsingenieur ein sicherer Umgang mit der gängigen Simulationssoftware und Software zur 3-D-Visualisierung wichtig. Kommunikationsstärke und sehr gute Deutsch- sowie Englischkenntnisse sind Voraussetzung für die reibungslose Kommunikation mit den verschiedenen Fachabteilungen.
Notwendige Soft Skills für den Berufsalltag sind Flexibilität sowie eine strukturierte und eigenverantwortliche Arbeitsweise.

  • Analytisches Problemlösungsdenken
  • Sicherer Umgang mit Office-Anwendungen
  • Qualitätsbewusstsein
  • Organisationstalent
  • Teamfähigkeit

Das verdient ein Berechnungsingenieur durchschnittlich

Berechnungsingenieure verdienen in Deutschland durchschnittlich zwischen 42.000 und 52.800 Euro jährlich. Die Einstiegsgehälter liegen zwischen 36.000 und 45.000 Euro pro Jahr. Erfahrene Berechnungsingenieure erreichen Bruttojahresgehälter zwischen 60.000 und 79.000 Euro.

Die optimale Position im Bereich Engineering finden – mit Hays

Als Berechnungsingenieur setzen Sie Ihr Fachwissen in einem spannenden Arbeitsumfeld ein. Sie führen mithilfe von Simulationssoftware rechnerische Experimente durch und treiben die technische Entwicklung in Ihrem Unternehmen voran.
Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Suche nach einem zukunftssicheren Job im Bereich Engineering. Informieren Sie sich jetzt über die Vorteile der Jobsuche mit Hays!
Relevante Vertragsarten

  • Festanstellung
  • Freiberuflichkeit
  • Arbeitnehmerüberlassung
  • Workforce Management