Jobprofile
process engineer

Are you looking for the right process engineer to use in your company?

Process engineers: optimising technical processes

Process engineers are responsible for the technical processes in companies. They are actively involved in improvement projects as well as ensure their success and the optimisation of existing processes by applying their expertise.

Which opportunities do process engineers have on the labour market?

Process engineers require an academic degree in an engineering-related field. A specialisation in process engineering and internships in producing companies allow a successful career start. Process engineers usually work in the chemical or energy industry, in the field of process engineering or at companies specialised in plant engineering. On these labour markets, process engineers have very good prospects. Learn more about the individual areas process engineers can work in.

What are the tasks and responsibilities of process engineers?

Process engineers are responsible both for the development of approaches and concepts intended for the improvement of technical processes and for the creation and application of procedure models to different processes. That way, process engineers are able to examine the efficiency and effectiveness of the individual processes and, where required, derive process optimisation measures. Optimisation is always required when problems occur or a more effective production process is needed.

Extensive training courses related to the developed measures also belong to the daily business of process engineers. Furthermore, process engineers often manage process teams and coordinate their tasks and act as representatives of improvement projects towards the management board.

  • Development of approaches and concepts
  • Creation and application of procedure models
  • Examination of the efficiency and effectiveness of processes
  • Derivation of process optimisation measures
  • Training courses
  • Acting as representatives of improvement projects towards the management board

Which hard skills and soft skills should process engineers have?

Process engineers must be familiar with the structure and content of the company’s business system, especially with the related processes, and must know how to use it. Moreover, they should have a good knowledge of the common project management systems and methods and of standards such as ISO 900x, CMMI or SPICE. Experience with applied statistics, stochastics and rationalisation is essential as well. As process engineers may also have managerial responsibility, they should be experienced in working as coaches in operational projects and be able to teach specific process details.
Good abstraction abilities, an analytical way of thinking and the ability to motivate others are soft skills process engineers should possess.

  • Good English skills
  • Experience with production processes and quality assurance
  • A targeted, independent way of working
  • Team spirit
  • A confident appearance

What is the average salary of process engineers?

Process engineers have an average gross annual salary of approximately EUR 53,900. While the starting salary is about EUR 45,000 per year, a senior engineer may earn up to EUR 130,000 annually.

Find a promising job in the engineering area – with Hays

As a process engineer, you play an important role in improvement projects of companies from different industries. You develop concepts for the improvement of technical processes and closely cooperate with your company’s development department.
We will be happy to drive your career forward and help you find the perfect position as a process engineer. Learn more about the benefits of finding a job with Hays!

Relevant contract types

  • Permanent employment
  • Contracting/freelance work
  • Temporary employment
  • Workforce management

Jobprofil
Prozessingenieur (m/w/d)

Sie suchen den passenden Prozessingenieur für den Einsatz in Ihrem Unternehmen?

Prozessingenieur: Technische Prozesse optimieren

Als Prozessingenieur zeichnen Sie für die technischen Prozesse in einem Unternehmen verantwortlich. Sie arbeiten aktiv an Verbesserungsprojekten und sorgen mit Ihrer Fachkompetenz sowohl für einen reibungslosen Projektablauf als auch für die Optimierung bestehender Prozesse.

Aktuelle Karrierechancen für Prozessingenieure

Für die Arbeit als Prozessingenieur ist ein akademischer Abschluss in einem Ingenieur-Studiengang Voraussetzung. Ein erfolgreicher Berufseinstieg gelingt etwa durch eine Spezialisierung auf Verfahrenstechnik sowie Praktika in einem produzierenden Betrieb. In der Regel arbeiten Prozessingenieure in der Chemie, der Energieindustrie, der Verfahrenstechnik und in Anlagenbauunternehmen. Auf diesen Arbeitsmärkten bestehen derzeit sehr gute Perspektiven. Informieren Sie sich jetzt über die einzelnen Bereiche für Prozessingenieure!

Die Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten von Prozessingenieuren

Ein Prozessingenieur ist im Unternehmen für die Erarbeitung von Vorgehensweisen und Konzepten zur Verbesserung technischer Prozesse verantwortlich. Er erstellt Vorgehensmodelle, die er anschließend auf die unterschiedlichen Prozesse anwendet. Auf diese Weise überprüft er die Effizienz sowie Effektivität der einzelnen Prozesse und leitet bei Bedarf Maßnahmen zur Prozessoptimierung ab. Optimierungsbedarf ist immer dann vorhanden, wenn Probleme auftreten oder eine effektivere Produktionsweise notwendig wird.

Zum Arbeitsalltag von Prozessingenieuren gehören umfangreiche Schulungen zu den entwickelten Maßnahmen. Der Prozessingenieur trägt häufig auch die Verantwortung für ein Prozessteam und koordiniert dessen Aufgaben. Vor dem Management vertritt er letztlich das gesamte Verbesserungsprojekt.

  • Erarbeitung von Vorgehensweisen und Konzepten
  • Erstellung und Anwendung von Vorgehensmodellen
  • Überprüfung der Effizienz und Effektivität von Prozessen
  • Ableitung von Maßnahmen zur Prozessoptimierung
  • Schulungen
  • Vertretung des Verbesserungsprojektes vor dem Management

Diese Anforderungen sollte ein Prozessingenieur erfüllen

Als Prozessingenieur müssen Sie den Aufbau, die Inhalte und die Anwendung des Geschäftssystems kennen – und allen voran die Inhalte der zugeordneten Prozesse. Des Weiteren sollten Sie mit gängigen Projektmanagementsystemen und -methoden vertraut sein und Standards wie ISO 900x, CMMI oder SPICE beherrschen. Für den Berufsalltag sind daneben Erfahrungen in der angewandten Statistik, Stochastik und Rationalisierung wichtig. Aufgrund Ihrer Führungsverantwortung benötigen Sie Kenntnisse im Coaching von operativen Projekten und die Fähigkeit, Prozessinhalte zu vermitteln.
Wichtige Soft Skills für den Arbeitsalltag sind ein großes Abstraktionsvermögen, eine analytische Denkweise und Motivationsfähigkeit.

  • Gute Englischkenntnisse
  • Erfahrung mit Produktionsprozessabläufen und Qualitätssicherung
  • Zielstrebige und selbstständige Arbeitsweise
  • Teamfähigkeit
  • Souveränes Auftreten

Die durchschnittlichen Gehälter von Prozessingenieuren

Das durchschnittliche Bruttojahresgehalt von Prozessingenieuren beträgt zurzeit 53.900 Euro. Berufseinsteiger verdienen durchschnittlich 45.000 Euro im Jahr, ein Senior Engineer erhält bis 130.000 Euro jährlich.

Einen aussichtsreichen Job im Bereich Engineering finden – mit Hays

Als Prozessingenieur sind Sie maßgeblich an Verbesserungsprojekten in Unternehmen unterschiedlicher Industrien beteiligt. Sie entwickeln Konzepte zur Verbesserung technischer Prozesse und arbeiten eng mit den Entwicklungsabteilungen des Unternehmens zusammen.
Wir bringen Ihre Karriere gerne voran und verhelfen Ihnen zu Ihrer Wunschposition als Prozessingenieur. Informieren Sie sich jetzt über die Vorteile der Jobsuche mit Hays!

Relevante Vertragsarten

  • Festanstellung
  • Freiberuflichkeit
  • Arbeitnehmerüberlassung
  • Workforce Management