Job profile
R&D scientist

You are looking for the right R&D scientist for your company?

R&D scientists: being part of technological progress

Being involved in the development of drugs, new energy sources or alternative packaging materials, R&D scientists have a broad range of interesting tasks. Various industries rely on highly qualified experts to advance technological progress in a creative way. Are you interested in starting or advancing your career as an R&D scientist? Feel free to contact us!

Which opportunities do R&D scientists have on the labour market?

Scientists are in demand in different economic sectors. Companies from the pharmaceutical, packaging, medical engineering or electrical engineering industry, for example, usually have development departments where innovative research is conducted. As studies are often carried out in cooperation with universities or universities of applied sciences, graduates and PhD students have a good chance of being directly involved in such projects. Furthermore, R&D scientists often perform management tasks. Their career prospects also depend on their specialisation – university graduates in broad fields of study, such as chemistry or physics, have more opportunities than experts who have completed a very specialised course of study.

What are the tasks and responsibilities of R&D scientists?

R&D scientists are involved in the planning and implementation of scientific projects. Depending on their field of expertise, they may, for instance, develop formulas for new materials, execute tests or prove theories in practice. Moreover, close teamwork is usually part of R&D scientists’ daily business.

  • Cooperation with other scientists
  • Presentation of own research activities at conferences
  • Publication of research results
  • Preparation of expert reports
  • Preparation of project applications
  • Staff management

Which hard skills and soft skills should R&D scientists have?

Scientists who want to work in the research & development department of a company require a relevant academic background, i.e. a very good master’s degree or similar. First research experience acquired while working as student assistants improve their chances. Candidates with a PhD degree have an advantage when applying for project management positions at research departments. Besides, fluent English skills are essential to be able to publish and present research activities in English.

  • An appropriate specialisation
  • Expertise (ideally proved by a list of publications/presentations)
  • Specific software skills
  • Analytical skills
  • Organisational talent and an independent way of working
  • Team spirit
  • The ability to adequately communicate in written and oral form

What is the average salary of R&D scientists?

Graduates with a master’s degree who start to work as scientific assistants have a salary of at least EUR 40,000 per year. Their salary increases depending on their research experience and field of work.

Find your dream job as an R&D scientist – with Hays

We are very familiar with the individual labour markets of different occupational fields and match university graduates with companies in a targeted manner, covering industries such as healthcare, engineering and life sciences.

Convince yourself of our expertise and make use of the benefits of finding a job with Hays!

Relevant contract types

Jobprofil
Scientist R&D

Sie suchen den passenden Scientist R&D für den Einsatz in Ihrem Unternehmen?

Scientist R&D: Seien Sie Teil des technologischen Fortschritts

An der Entwicklung von Medikamenten mitwirken, neue Energiequellen oder alternative Verpackungsmaterialien entwickeln: Als Scientist R&D kommen spannende Tätigkeiten auf Sie zu. Verschiedene Industriebereiche sind auf hochqualifizierte Fachleute angewiesen, die auf kreative Weise den technologischen Fortschritt voranbringen. Sie fühlen sich angesprochen? Dann nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf!

Welche Aussichten haben Sie als Scientist R&D auf dem Arbeitsmarkt?

Wissenschaftler sind in ganz unterschiedlichen Wirtschaftsbereichen gefragt. Unternehmen in der Pharma- und Verpackungsindustrie oder in der Medizin- und Elektrotechnik unterhalten beispielsweise mehr oder weniger große Entwicklungsabteilungen, die innovative Forschung betreiben. Oft finden die Studien in Zusammenarbeit mit Universitäten und Fachhochschulen statt, sodass Absolventen und Doktoranden gute Chancen haben, direkt in solchen Projekten unterzukommen. Auch für Management-Tätigkeiten sind Wissenschaftler gerne gesehene Fachleute. Viel hängt von der Fachrichtung ab, denn Akademiker in breit angelegten Studienfächern wie Chemie oder Physik treffen auf ein höheres Angebot als hochspezialisierte Experten.

Welche Tätigkeiten erwartet Sie als Scientist R&D?

Als Forscher sind Sie zunächst an der Planung und Durchführung von wissenschaftlichen Projekten beteiligt. Je nach Fachgebiet entwickeln Sie beispielsweise Formeln für neue Materialien, führen Versuche durch oder überprüfen theoretische Erkenntnisse in der Praxis. Sie arbeiten als Wissenschaftler für Forschung & Entwicklung meist eng in Teams zusammen.

  • Kooperation mit anderen Wissenschaftlern
  • Präsentation der eigenen Forschung auf Fachtagungen
  • Publikation von Forschungsergebnissen
  • Erstellen von Gutachten
  • Verfassen von Projektanträgen
  • Personalführung

Welche Hard Skills und Soft Skills benötigen Wissenschaftler?

Um als Wissenschaftler im Bereich Research & Development eines Unternehmens zu arbeiten, benötigen Sie zunächst eine einschlägige akademische Ausbildung. Ein sehr guter Master- oder Diplomabschluss sind Voraussetzung für die Tätigkeit. Gern gesehen sind auch bei Science-Absolventen mit ersten Forschungserfahrungen als studentische Hilfskräfte. Bewerber mit Doktortitel werden bei Stellen mit Aufgaben in der Projektleitung einer Research-Abteilung bevorzugt. Außerdem sind fließende Englischkenntnisse für Forscher unabdingbar, da von ihnen erwartet wird, dass sie englischsprachig publizieren und auf Fachtagungen vortragen können.

  • Geeignete Spezialisierung
  • Fachkenntnisse, ggf. nachzuweisen mit Publikations- und Präsentationsliste
  • Spezifische Softwarekenntnisse
  • Analysefähigkeit
  • Organisationsfähigkeit und Selbstständigkeit
  • Teamfähigkeit
  • Schriftliche und mündliche Ausdrucksfähigkeit

Was verdient man als Scientist R&D?

Als Absolvent mit Masterabschluss dürfen Sie mit einem Einstiegsjahresgehalt für Scientific Assistants von mindestens 40.000 Euro brutto rechnen. Mit zunehmender Forschungserfahrung und je nach Tätigkeitsprofil erreichen Sie einen höheren Verdienst.

Den neuen Traumjob als Scientist R&D finden – mit Ihrem Partner Hays

Wir kennen den Arbeitsmarkt in verschiedenen Berufsfeldern bestens und bringen zielgenau Akademiker mit Unternehmen zusammen, etwa in den Feldern Health, Engineering und Life Sciences.

Überzeugen Sie sich von unserer Expertise als Personalvermittler und profitieren Sie von den Vorteilen einer Jobsuche mit uns!

Relevante Vertragsarten