Contact us
You are here:

Sabbatical models:
How to apply for a sabbatical year with your employer

Escape from your daily routine and take time for personal development. Or just explore the world. The reasons for a sabbatical or sabbatical year are diverse. More and more companies are now getting to grips with the desire for a career break. They already offer applicants the opportunity to take a career break in job advertisements and in doing so portray themselves as an attractive corporate brand. There are various models that you can take advantage of as an employee, teacher or public official.

The fact is that the demand for a sabbatical year is currently relatively high – partly due to the pandemic (source: Sabbatjahr.org). Sabbaticals benefit not only employees but also employers.

Sabbatical Models

A sabbatical year can be beneficial to recharge your batteries and advance the company with new vigour and fresh ideas. However, at the same time, there are challenges as sabbaticals can be difficult to negotiate and finance.

Meaning of sabbatical: What is a sabbatical year?

A sabbatical is usually a leave of absence from work, which is often used for travel, research (e.g. voyage of learning) or personal development.

But where does the term come from and what does it mean? The word "sabbatical" has its origins in the Hebrew word "Shabbat" (Sabbath). The model was developed by US universities for professors who were relieved of their duties during their teaching hiatus and were able to focus entirely on their research.

A sabbatical year or sabbatical in our current working world is a longer break from working life, usually amounting to several months (known as sabbatical leave). The employee receives a specific salary each month during this defined time period, which they have earned through hours worked before or after the break. The employee therefore banks working hours and a monetary amount to a long-term account over a certain period of time in order to finance the sabbatical. Companies and organisations currently implement the following five sabbatical models in Germany.

These sabbatical models and financing options are available

Sabbaticals have achieved recognition in many companies and organisations in Germany – and that means there are also various financing options available.

  1. 1
     
  2. Using a sabbatical as special holiday

    Be liberated from work for a whole year? No, it does not have to be twelve calendar months. For some employees, a few days of special leave in addition to the contractually defined annual leave suffice for a sabbatical. For example, you can add up to four weeks of special leave to your 30-day annual holiday entitlement. This ultimately amounts to two months – and these days can be taken easily and compensated without any holiday cover in many companies.

    Longer sabbaticals, however, can get tricky because, in this case, the employment contract is considered to be interrupted and you as an employee are no longer covered by the social security scheme.

    If you stay within a period of two months, you will continue to be covered by the social security scheme. During the period of the special leave, your monthly salary will usually not be paid. However, social security contributions will continue to be paid.

  3. 2
     
  4. A sabbatical as unpaid leave

    The second sabbatical model is probably the simplest but financially the most unfavourable variant for you: unpaid leave. Your employment contract is effectively suspended in this case and neither obligations nor rights can be asserted.

    You as an employee are no longer covered by the social security scheme during this period so you have to take care of health and nursing care insurance as well as pension and unemployment insurance yourself (voluntarily).

    Your employer has the advantage that the sabbatical does not incur any direct costs and both parties can resume the employment contract at any time after you return, without the need for a new contract.

  5. 3
     
  6. A sabbatical based on a voluntary cut in salary

    If you do not want to or cannot finance your sabbatical year, you can forego part of your contractual salary in this sabbatical model. The benefit here is that your employment contract remains in force and you continue to be covered by the social security scheme.

    With this model, the employee normally receives only 75 percent of their actual salary as a full-time employee before their career break. For example, if you decide to take a two-year sabbatical, you can still get 50 percent of your income.

    The drawback, however, is that even before your sabbatical, you would have to restrict yourself financially and adjust your standard of living accordingly. Nevertheless, the effort for most people is manageable with this variant.

  7. 4
     
  8. A sabbatical through banking working time credit

    A very popular and rather classic model for a career break is the banking of overtime, which is recorded in a specially created working time account. Employees can use this allocation of hours during their sabbatical.

    If you apply for and use this sabbatical model, you will continue to be employed, continue to receive your salary and you will also have comprehensive insurance and protection. But this model only works if your company records and documents your working time. If your employer relies on working time arrangements based on trust, you must set up a special arrangement with your superiors.

    This should be considered carefully because the extra work you have to do could not only lead to considerable stress in situations where there is additional burden – it could also affect your productivity and the efficiency of the company.

  9. 5
     
  10. A sabbatical by setting up a lifelong working time account

    The fifth and final sabbatical model is an extension of the working time credit. This includes not only additional hours and overtime but also unused holidays as well as any bonuses, holiday and Christmas bonuses and salary payments. These amounts can be used as an employee to retire earlier than planned – or to take a sabbatical year.

    Understandably, your company will have to spend more time and money on this model. However, you as an employee have the advantage of continuing to be covered by the social security scheme. You can be very flexible and take a sabbatical in the foreseeable future.

Choose the right sabbatical model for you and convince your manager

Don't be afraid to take a sabbatical just because you fear not being covered by the social security scheme. This is not the case in most instances.

We recommend that you consider the various sabbatical models and your legal rights at an early stage and determine the appropriate variant for you in order to plan your career break.

If you are applying for a sabbatical year, you should be well informed when you enter into negotiations with your manager. At first, it may not seem worthwhile for a company to lose competent employees or even managers for a relatively long period of time. But the advantages outweigh the disadvantages, even for employers. Make it clear to your company that you will be invigorated and motivated when you return from your sabbatical.

Most likely, the following arguments will also apply to you:

  • The sabbatical year allows you personally to train in specific fields that will benefit your team.
  • The company benefits from the experiences that you gain abroad and the linguistic and intercultural skills that you acquire.
  • You pre-empt potential overloading in the workplace and protect yourself in the long-term against common diseases, such as burn-out.
  • Your reintegration into daily work does not require additional effort as you will not lose your know-how.
  • Your company becomes attractive by offering potential sabbaticals and stands out from the majority of rival companies in times where there is a shortage of skilled workers.

Have you got a touch of wanderlust and are looking to take a career break? Want to meet an employer who is open to sabbaticals? Send us your application documents and we will find the right company with you.

Free application training

Are you keen to take a look around the market but aren’t sure whether your CV is up to scratch or your social media profiles are coherent?

Long-term experience

The more know-how and professional experience you have, the more complex your CV will be. We show you how to structure it.

In-person
advice

Would you like to meet us in person? Come and see us – we have branches throughout Germany, from Münster through Hanover to Munich.

Follow us on social media: Follow us on social media:

Kontakt
Sie sind hier:

Sabbatical Modelle:
So beantragen Sie ein Sabbatjahr bei Ihrem Arbeitgeber

Raus aus dem Alltag, sich Zeit nehmen für die persönliche Weiterentwicklung. Oder einfach mal die Welt erkunden. Die Gründe für ein Sabbatical oder Sabbatjahr sind vielfältig. Dem Wunsch nach einer beruflichen Auszeit kommen mittlerweile immer mehr Unternehmen entgegen. Sie bieten die Option einer beruflichen Auszeit Bewerberinnen und Bewerbern bereits in Stellenausschreibungen an und präsentieren sich damit als attraktive Arbeitgebermarke. Dabei gibt es verschiedene Modelle, die Sie als Angestellter, Lehrer oder Beamter in Anspruch nehmen können.

Fakt ist, dass die Nachfrage nach einem Sabbatjahr – unter anderem wegen der Pandemie – aktuell recht hoch ist (Quelle: Sabbatjahr.org). Von Sabbaticals profitieren nicht nur Arbeitnehmende, sondern auch Arbeitgebende.

Sabbatical Modelle

Denn ein Sabbatjahr kann förderlich sein, um neue Energie zu tanken und das Unternehmen mit neuem Elan und frischen Ideen nach vorne zu bringen. Gleichzeitig gibt es jedoch auch Herausforderungen dabei, denn Sabbaticals können schwierig zu verhandeln und zu finanzieren sein.

Bedeutung von Sabbatical: Was ist ein Sabbatjahr?

Unter einem Sabbatical versteht man in der Regel eine Freistellung von der beruflichen Arbeit, die oft für Reisen, Forschung (z.B. Lern-Reise) oder persönliche Weiterentwicklung genutzt wird.

Kurz zum Begriff bzw. zur Definition: Das Wort „Sabbatical“ ist aus dem Englischen entliehen und findet seinen Ursprung aus dem Hebräischen im Wort „Sabbat“. Das Modell entwickelten US-amerikanische Universitäten für Professorinnen und Professoren, die während ihrer Auszeit vom Lehrbereich befreit wurden und sich ganz auf ihre Forschungen konzentrieren konnten.

Das Sabbatjahr bzw. Sabbatical bezeichnet in unserer heutigen Arbeitswelt eine längere, meist mehrmonatige Pause vom Arbeitsleben (bekannt als Sabbatjahr-Auszeit). Der Arbeitnehmende erhält während dieser zeitlich festgelegten Auszeit jeden Monat ein bestimmtes Arbeitsentgelt, das er durch Vor- bzw. Nacharbeit erwirtschaftet hat. Sie oder er spart somit über eine bestimmte Zeitspanne auf ein Langzeitkonto Arbeitszeit und damit einen monetären Betrag an, um somit das Sabbatical zu finanzieren. Unternehmen und Organisationen setzen aktuell in Deutschland hauptsächlich die folgenden fünf Sabbatical-Modelle um.

Diese Sabbatical-Modelle und Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten gibt es

In vielen Unternehmen und Organisationen in Deutschland sind Sabbaticals angekommen – und damit auch verschiedene Finanzierungsoptionen.

  1. 1
     
  2. Das Sabbatical als Sonderurlaub nutzen

    Direkt ein ganzes Jahr von der Arbeit befreit sein? Nein, es müssen nicht direkt zwölf Kalendermonate sein. Einigen Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmern genügen für ein Sabbatical zusätzlich zum vertraglich festgelegten Jahresurlaub ein paar Tage Sonderurlaub on top. So können zum Beispiel zu Ihren 30-Tagen-Jahresurlaub bis zu vier Wochen Sonderurlaub dazukommen. Unter dem Strich sind das zwei Monate – und die lassen sich ohne weiteres realisieren und in vielen Unternehmen auch ohne Vertretung überwinden.

    Dauert das Sabbatical jedoch länger, kann es schwierig werden, da in diesem Fall das Arbeitsverhältnis als unterbrochen betrachtet wird und Sie als Arbeitnehmende nicht mehr sozialversichert sind.

    Bleiben Sie in einer Zeitspanne von zwei Monaten, sind Sie weiterhin sozialversichert. In dem Zeitraum des Sonderurlaubs wird in der Regel Ihr monatliches Gehalt nicht mehr ausgezahlt. Die Beiträge zur Sozialversicherung werden jedoch weiterhin abgeführt.

  3. 2
     
  4. Das Sabbatical als unbezahlte Freistellung

    Das zweite Modell eines Sabbaticals ist wohl die einfachste, aber monetär ungünstigste Variante für Sie: die unbezahlte Freistellung. Hier ruht faktisch Ihr Arbeitsverhältnis, und weder Pflichten noch Rechte können geltend gemacht werden.

    Sie als Arbeitnehmerin bzw. Arbeitnehmer sind in dieser Zeit nicht mehr sozial abgesichert, sodass Sie sich selbst um Kranken- und Pflegeversicherung sowie Renten- und Arbeitslosenversicherung (freiwillig) kümmern müssen.

    Ihre Arbeitgeberin bzw. Ihr Arbeitgeber hat dadurch den Vorteil, dass das Sabbatical keine direkten Kosten verursacht, und beide Parteien können das Arbeitsverhältnis ohne einen neuen Vertrag jederzeit nach Ihrer Rückkehr wieder aufnehmen.

  5. 3
     
  6. Sabbatical dank eines freiwilligen Lohnverzichts

    Wollen oder können Sie Ihr Sabbatjahr finanziell nicht stemmen, können Sie bei diesem Sabbatical-Modell auf einen Teil Ihres vertraglich festgelegten Gehalts verzichten. Vorteil: Ihr Arbeitsverhältnis existiert weiterhin und Sie sind weiterhin sozialversichert.

    Gewöhnlich erhält bei diesem Modell die Arbeitnehmerin bzw. der Arbeitnehmer als Vollzeitkraft vor der beruflichen Auszeit lediglich 75 Prozent des eigentlichen Gehalts. Entschließen Sie sich zum Beispiel ein zweijähriges Sabbatical zu nehmen, können Sie so immerhin 50 Prozent Ihres Einkommens bekommen.

    Der Nachteil dabei: Schon vor Ihres Sabbaticals müssten Sie sich finanziell einschränken und Ihren Lebensstandard entsprechend anpassen. Dennoch ist der Aufwand für die meisten bei dieser Variante überschaubar.

  7. 4
     
  8. Sabbatical durch das Führen eines Arbeitszeitguthabens

    Ein sehr beliebtes und eher klassisches Modell für eine berufliche Auszeit stellt das Ansparen von Mehrarbeit dar, das auf einem speziell eingerichteten Arbeitszeitkonto gesammelt wird. Von diesem Stundenkontingent können sich Arbeitnehmende während Ihres Sabbaticals bedienen.

    Wenn Sie dieses Modell des Sabbatjahres beantragen und nutzen, bleiben Sie weiterhin angestellt, beziehen nach wie vor Ihren Lohn und sind ebenso umfänglich ver- und abgesichert. Jedoch passt diese Form nur dann, wenn Ihr Unternehmen Ihre Arbeitszeit erfasst und dokumentiert. Setzt Ihre Arbeitgeberin bzw. Ihr Arbeitgeber auf Vertrauensarbeitszeit, müssen Sie mit Ihren Vorgesetzten eine Sonderregelung entwickeln.

    Diese sollte wohlüberlegt sein. Denn die Mehrarbeit, die Sie leisten müssen, könnte nicht nur in Situation mit Mehrbelastung zu erheblichen Stresszuständen führen – und die können zu Leiden Ihrer Produktivität und der Effizienz des Unternehmens gehen.

  9. 5
     
  10. Sabbatical durch das Aufsetzen eines Lebensarbeitszeitkontos

    Das fünfte und letzte Sabbatical-Modell ist eine Erweiterung des Arbeitszeitguthabens. Dabei sind nicht nur Mehr- und Überstunden inkludiert, sondern auch nicht genutzte Urlaubstage sowie etwaige Gratifikationen, Urlaubs- sowie Weihnachtsgeld und auch Gehaltszahlungen. Diese Beträge können Sie als Arbeitnehmerin bzw. Arbeitnehmer verwenden, um früher als geplant in Rente zu gehen – oder ein Sabbatjahr zu nehmen.

    Nachvollziehbar: Ihr Unternehmen wird für dieses Modell einen höheren bürokratischen und damit kostenintensiven Aufwand leisten müssen. Sie als Arbeitnehmerin oder Arbeitnehmer haben jedoch den Vorteil, weiterhin sozialversichert zu sein. Sie können sehr flexibel agieren und in absehbarer Zeit ein Sabbatical einlegen.

Wählen Sie das für Sie passende Sabbatical-Modell aus und überzeugen Sie Ihren Vorgesetzten

Scheuen Sie sich nicht, ein Sabbatical einzulegen, lediglich weil Sie befürchten, Ihre Sozialversicherung zu verlieren. In den meisten Fällen ist dies nicht der Fall.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, sich frühzeitig mit den verschiedenen Sabbatical-Modellen und Ihrem rechtlichen Anspruch auseinanderzusetzen und die für Sie passende Variante zu bestimmen, um Ihre berufliche Auszeit zu planen.

Wenn Sie ein Sabbatjahr beantragen, sollten Sie gut informiert in die Verhandlung mit Ihrer Vorgesetzten bzw. Ihrem Vorgesetzten einsteigen. Im ersten Moment mag es für ein Unternehmen wenig lohnenswert erscheinen, kompetente Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter oder gar Führungskräfte für einen relativ langen Zeitraum zu entbehren. Doch die Vorteile überwiegen auch für Arbeitgebende. Machen Sie Ihrem Unternehmen klar, dass Sie gestärkt und hoch motiviert aus Ihrem Sabbatical zurückkehren werden.

Höchstwahrscheinlich treffen auch folgende Argumente auf Sie zu:

  • Das Sabbatjahr dient Ihnen persönlich dazu, sich in bestimmten Fachgebieten weiterzubilden, von denen auch Ihr Team profitieren wird.
  • Ihre gesammelten Auslandserfahrungen sowie die Aneignung sprachlicher und interkultureller Kompetenzen kommen dem Unternehmen zugute.
  • Sie kommen einer möglichen Überlastung am Arbeitsplatz zuvor und wappnen sich so nachhaltig vor Volkskrankheiten wie Burn-out.
  • Die Wiedereingliederung in den Arbeitsalltag wird ohne zusätzlichen Aufwand erfolgen, da Sie Ihr Know-how nicht verlieren.
  • Ihr Unternehmen gewinnt durch mögliche Sabbaticals an Attraktivität und sticht aus der Masse der konkurrierenden Unternehmen in Zeiten des Fachkräftemangels hervor.

Sie haben Lust eine Arbeitgeberin bzw. einen Arbeitgeber zu treffen, die oder der offen für Sabbaticals sind, da Sie das Fernweh packt oder Sie eine berufliche Auszeit wünschen? Senden Sie uns Ihre Bewerbungsunterlagen und wir finden mit Ihnen das passende Unternehmen.

Kostenloses Bewerbungstraining

Sie möchten sich am Markt umschauen und sind sich unsicher, ob Ihr Lebenslauf gut aufbereitet ist oder Ihre Social Media Profile stimmig sind?

Langjährige Berufserfahrung

Je mehr Know-how und Berufserfahrung Sie haben, desto komplexer wird Ihr Lebenslauf. Wir zeigen Ihnen, wie Sie ihn aufbauen können.

Persönliche Beratung vor Ort

Sie möchten uns kennenlernen? Kommen Sie gerne persönlich bei uns vorbei - wir haben deutschlandweit Standorte, von Münster über Hannover bis München.

Folgen Sie uns auf Social Media: Folgen Sie uns auf Social Media: