Jobprofile
Requirements Engineer (m/f/d)

You are looking for the right requirements engineer for your company?

Requirements engineers: managing software development requirements

Requirements engineers are responsible for the analysis, documentation, coordination and management of requirements regarding new software projects. They identify and understand the customer’s project-specific demands and document them in a clear and binding way. By this, they act as the interface between the customer and the developers.

Which opportunities do requirements engineers have on the labour market?

There is no specific training to become a requirements engineer. An academic degree in computer sciences or business informatics, however, is a good basis to start a successful career. Newcomers can work as requirements engineers after having completed an appropriate technical or professional training, e.g. in the area of software development, or further training programmes related to requirements engineering. To deepen the acquired expertise and thus to improve their career prospects, requirements engineers can take certain certificate courses, e.g. for obtaining the qualification Certified Professional for Requirements Engineering (CPRE). Requirements engineers currently have good chances to find a suitable job. Learn more about the interesting areas requirements engineers can work in!

What are the tasks and responsibilities of requirements engineers?

The key task of requirements engineers is requirements management, i.e. the analysis and documentation of customer requirements regarding software to be developed. For this purpose, they conduct interviews, precise observations or workshops with the future users of the software. Furthermore, they identify the customer’s priorities and record conflicts between individual requirements. In this context, requirements engineers always comply with technical, legal and design requirements.

As software developers must know which requirements have the highest priority and which ones are irrelevant or adverse, a clear and binding documentation of the individual requirements is crucial.

  • Identification of requirements regarding new software
  • Identification of priorities and conflicts
  • Compliance with guidelines
  • Preparation of transparent and binding results documentations

Which hard skills and soft skills should requirements engineers have?

Requirements engineers must possess an analytical way of thinking and excellent moderation skills. Besides, they must be experienced in conflict management, persuasive and able to generate enthusiasm for their projects.

Very good German and English language skills and the ability to present complex matters in a comprehensible way to third parties are crucial as well.

  • Software development skills
  • Experience in requirements management
  • A structured way of working
  • Team spirit

What is the average salary of requirements engineers?

The average gross annual salary of requirements engineers is about EUR 62,000. The average starting salary amounts to approximately EUR 48,000 and, with increasing experience, can rise up to EUR 75,000.

Find a promising position as a requirements engineer – with Hays

As a requirements engineer, you have an interesting job: You have the main responsibility for the management of software development requirements and act as an interface between developers and customers.

We will be happy to drive your career forward and support you in finding a suitable job in an IT environment. Learn more about the benefits of finding a job with Hays!

Relevant contract types

Jobprofil
Requirements Engineer (m/w/d)

Sie suchen den passenden Requirements Engineer für den Einsatz in Ihrem Unternehmen?

Requirements Engineer: Anforderungsmanagement in der Softwareentwicklung

Als Requirements Engineer sind Sie für die Analyse, Dokumentation, Abstimmung und Verwaltung der Anforderungen für neue Software-Projekte verantwortlich. Sie verstehen und ermitteln die Ansprüche des Kunden an ein Projekt und halten diese für alle Beteiligen klar und verbindlich fest. Damit fungieren Sie als Bindeglied zwischen dem Auftraggeber und den Entwicklern.

Perspektiven für den Job als Requirements Engineer

Requirements Engineer ist kein Beruf, für den es eine bestimmte Ausbildung gibt. Eine gute Basis für die Karriere als Requirements Engineer ist ein Studium der Informatik oder Wirtschaftsinformatik. Der Quereinstieg gelingt in der Regel über die technische oder fachliche Seite – etwa über die Software-Entwicklung oder konkrete Weiterbildungen. Für die Vertiefung der Fachkenntnisse und bessere berufliche Perspektiven bietet sich die Weiterbildung Certified Professional for Requirements Engineering (CPRE) an. Derzeit sind die Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt für Requirements Engineers gut. Informieren Sie sich jetzt über die spannenden Bereiche für Requirements Engineers!

Die Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten eines Requirements Engineers

Die Hauptaufgabe des Requirements Engineers ist das Anforderungsmanagement ­– sprich das Ermitteln und Dokumentieren der Anforderungen, die ein Auftraggeber an eine zu entwickelnde Software stellt. Um dies zu leisten, führt der Requirements Engineer Befragungen, genaue Beobachtungen oder Workshops mit den späteren Anwendern durch. Seine Aufgabe ist es zudem, die Prioritäten des Kunden zu erkennen und Konflikte zwischen einzelnen Anforderungen zu erfassen. Immer im Blick hat er dabei die Einhaltung der technischen, gesetzlichen sowie gestalterischen Richtlinien.

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Arbeit des Requirements Engineers ist das klare und verbindliche Dokumentieren der einzelnen Anforderungen. Am Ende muss der Softwareentwickler wissen, welche Anforderungen die höchste Priorität haben, unerwünscht oder unwichtig sind.

  • Ermittlung von Anforderungen an neue Software
  • Erkennung von Prioritäten und Konflikten
  • Einhaltung von Richtlinien
  • Transparente und verbindliche Dokumentation der Ergebnisse

Diese Hard Skills und Soft Skills sollte ein Requirements Engineer mitbringen

Essenziell für die Arbeit als Requirements Engineer sind eine analytische Denkweise, hervorragende Moderationsfähigkeiten und ein sicheres Konfliktmanagement. Des Weiteren muss der Requirements Engineer dazu in der Lage sein, andere Menschen für sein Projekt zu begeistern, und eine entsprechende Überzeugungskraft haben.

Wichtig für den Arbeitsalltag sind sehr gute Deutsch- und Englischkenntnisse sowie die Fähigkeit, komplexe Zusammenhänge so verständlich darzustellen, dass sie Dritte verstehen.

  • Kenntnisse in der Softwareentwicklung
  • Erfahrung im Anforderungsmanagement
  • Strukturierte Arbeitsweise
  • Teamfähigkeit

Das Gehalt eines Requirements Engineers

Das durchschnittliche Bruttojahresgehalt eines Requirements Engineers liegt bei etwa 62.000 Euro. Erfahrene Requirements Engineers verdienen bis zu 75.000 Euro pro Jahr, während die Einstiegsgehälter bei 48.000 Euro jährlich beginnen.

Eine aussichtsreiche Position als Requirements Engineer finden – mit Hays

Als Requirements Engineer üben Sie eine spannende Tätigkeit aus. Sie zeichnen maßgeblich für das Anforderungsmanagement in der Softwareentwicklung verantwortlich und fungieren als Bindeglied zwischen Entwicklern und Kunden.

Wir bringen Ihre Karriere gerne voran und unterstützen Sie bei der Suche nach einem Job im IT-Umfeld. Informieren Sie sich jetzt über die Vorzüge der Jobsuche mit Hays!

Relevante Vertragsarten