Job profile
Data protection officers (m/w/d)

Are you looking for the right data protection officer to work in your company?

Data protection officers: protecting data and ensuring compliance with data protection regulations

Many companies are required to employ a data protection officer, whose tasks include the analysis, evaluation and optimisation of the business processes regarding IT security and data protection. Besides, data protection officers are responsible for ensuring compliance with the related requirements, which are implemented by the management board and the involved departments.

Which opportunities do data protection officers have on the labour market?

The data protection requirements according to the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) have been in force since May 2018, delivering new standards for the processing of personal data according to the German Federal Data Protection Act (BDSG) – both for the public sector and private companies. Consequently, companies need an increasing number of appropriately qualified employees, who acquire their expertise as data protection officers through a specific training. As there is a lack of data protection experts and the relevance of this topic is increasingly growing in all areas, data protection officers have very good prospects on the labour market. All companies processing personal data – be it in the HR or marketing area – need to ensure compliance with the legal data protection regulations. In small and medium-sized companies, in particular, this job is often performed by generalists who have acquired the necessary skills via an additional qualification.

What are the tasks and responsibilities of data protection officers?

According to the GDPR, companies are obliged to adapt their declarations of consent and privacy statements; there are now stricter regulations and new reporting obligations in case of data breaches. The infringement of the data protection provisions may lead to claims for damages, penalties or image loss. Thus, data protection officers have great responsibility.

  • Monitoring of compliance with the data protection regulations within the entire company
  • Analysis of business processes and IT security related to the processing of personal data
  • Preparation of expert reports, verification of contracts with service providers and definition of corporate guidelines
  • Communication with authorities and provision of information about data protection

Which hard skills and soft skills should data protection officers have?

Data protection officers must possess relevant practical skills and be familiar with current laws, judgements and regulations. Both law and IT experts with an appropriate additional qualification and properly trained persons from other professional groups may work as data protection officers. Furthermore, data protection officers need to have strong social skills as communication forms a major part of their job.

  • An appropriate qualification, knowledge of the current regulations and implementation skills
  • Examination and consulting skills
  • The ability to explain legal matters in an understandable way
  • The willingness to solve problems as well as team spirit and assertiveness

What is the average salary of data protection officers?

On average, data protection officers earn EUR 33,000 annually. While the starting salary is about EUR 24,000 per year, data protection officers who have long-term professional experience and work at large companies may earn up to EUR 60,000. External freelance data protection officers, by contrast, earn about EUR 120 per hour.

Find all data protection officer jobs with Hays

Our mission is to match companies and experts – so make use of our expertise when searching for a job. With us, you will find a position meeting your qualifications and interests. Learn more about the benefits of finding a job with Hays!

Relevant contract types

Jobprofil
Datenschutzbeauftragter (m/f/d)

Sie suchen den passenden Datenschutzbeauftragten für den Einsatz in Ihrem Unternehmen?

Datenschutzbeauftragter: Datenschutz einhalten & Daten schützen

Viele Unternehmen sind zur Bestellung eines Datenschutzbeauftragten verpflichtet. Als Datenschutzbeauftragter bzw. Datenschutzbeauftragte analysieren, bewerten und optimieren Sie die Geschäftsprozesse hinsichtlich IT-Sicherheit und Datenschutz. Sie wirken auf die Einhaltung hin; die Umsetzung ist Aufgabe der Geschäftsführung und der Abteilungen.

Welche Chancen haben Datenschutzbeauftragte auf dem Arbeitsmarkt?

Die Regelungen zum Datenschutz nach der Datenschutzgrundverordnung (DSGVO) sind seit Mai 2018 in Kraft und setzen für die Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten nach BDSG neue Maßstäbe – sowohl für öffentliche Stellen als auch private Unternehmen. In der Folge benötigen Unternehmen vermehrt entsprechend ausgebildete Mitarbeiter, die ihr Wissen in der Regel im Rahmen einer Ausbildung zum Datenschutzbeauftragten erlangen. Die Chancen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt sind sehr gut, es herrscht ein Mangel an Experten im Bereich Datenschutz. Das Thema Datenschutz hat in nahezu allen Bereichen mehr Relevanz. Sobald Unternehmen personenbezogene Daten bearbeiten, sei es im Personalbereich oder im Marketing, ist die Einhaltung geltender Gesetze zum Datenschutz erforderlich. Besonders in kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen übernehmen häufig Generalisten die Aufgaben, die sich die nötigen Kenntnisse über eine Zusatzqualifikation angeeignet haben.

Aufgaben & Tätigkeiten eines Datenschutzbeauftragten

Das Inkrafttreten der DSGVO verpflichtet Unternehmen zu Anpassungen ihrer Einwilligungs- und Datenschutzerklärungen. Die Vorgaben sind strenger, bei Datenpannen gelten neue Meldepflichten. Schadensersatzforderungen, Strafen und der Imageschaden gehören bei einem Verstoß gegen die Datenschutzbestimmungen zu den möglichen Folgen. Der Datenschutzbeauftragte trägt daher große Verantwortung.

  • Er kontrolliert die Einhaltung der Bestimmungen zum Datenschutz im gesamten Unternehmen.
  • Er analysiert Geschäftsprozesse und die IT-Sicherheit hinsichtlich der Verarbeitung personenbezogener Daten.
  • Er erstellt Gutachten, prüft Verträge mit Dienstleistern und entwirft die Unternehmensrichtlinien.
  • Er kommuniziert mit Behörden und erteilt Auskünfte zum Thema Datenschutz.

Hard Skills und Soft Skills für den Job als Datenschutzbeauftragter

Als Datenschutzbeauftragter brauchen Sie relevantes Praxiswissen und müssen aktuelle Gesetze, Urteile und Verordnungen kennen. Den Job übernehmen unter anderem Juristen und IT-Experten mit einer entsprechenden Zusatzqualifikation. Auch andere Berufsgruppen haben die Möglichkeit, sich durch Weiterbildungen zu qualifizieren. Sie müssen viel kommunizieren, weshalb eine hohe soziale Kompetenz für den Beruf wichtig ist. Die erforderlichen Hard Skills und Soft Skills:

  • Nachweis der Qualifikation, Kenntnis der geltenden Regelungen und Wissen um die richtige Umsetzung
  • Prüfung und Beratung in einer herausfordernden Doppelrolle
  • Fähigkeit, rechtliche Sachverhalte auf verständliche Weise zu erklären
  • Wille für Problemlösungen, Teamfähigkeit und Durchsetzungsfähigkeit

Gehalt: Was verdient ein Datenschutzbeauftragter?

Das jährliche Bruttogehalt eines Datenschutzbeauftragten liegt im Schnitt bei rund 33.000 Euro, Berufseinsteiger verdienen ab 24.000 Euro, Datenschutzbeauftragte mit Berufserfahrung verdienen in großen Unternehmen bis zu rund 60.000 Euro. Der Stundensatz von externen Freelancern, die als Datenschutzbeauftragte arbeiten, liegt bei rund 120 Euro.

Stellenangebote: Finden Sie mit Hays Ihren Job als Datenschutzbeauftragter

Nutzen Sie jetzt die Vorteile bei der Jobsuche mit Hays – wir bringen Unternehmen und Experten zusammen. Wir vermitteln Ihnen Positionen, die Ihrer Qualifikation und Ihren Interessen entsprechen! Erfahren Sie jetzt mehr über die Vorteile der Jobsuche mit Hays!

Relevante Vertragsarten