Job profile
Architect (m/f/d)

Are you looking for the right architect to work in your company?

Architect: a profession with a bright future

The task of architects is to plan buildings and urban development activities and to monitor the related construction processes. Their area of responsibility comprises both residential buildings and commercial properties. The architect’s profession covers a very broad range of tasks and has many facets. Find out more about the different areas of tasks, the salary and the career opportunities of architects.

Which opportunities do architects have on the labour market?

Architects are highly sought-after. Due to the ever-changing construction requirements and social environment, their profession is subject to constant change. Currently, for example, the demand for experts in green building is growing. Besides, social aspects are also becoming more and more important. Thus, architects are required to design buildings which are both functional and comfortable. Architects who are specialised in a certain area, such as building design, site supervision or construction planning, have the best career prospects.

What are the tasks and responsibilities of architects?

Generally, architects are responsible for the planning of buildings, which includes – amongst others – functional, design-specific, technical, social and economic aspects.

  • Acquisition of orders and participation in tendering processes
  • Identification of bases for planning (clarification of requirements by clients and required services, location analysis, feasibility studies, etc.)
  • Design planning, including the creation of sketches and cost estimates
  • Approval planning (including negotiations with authorities)
  • Construction planning and assignment of construction services
  • Monitoring of construction processes and construction management
  • Urban planning (land-use planning, development planning, protection of historical monuments)

Which hard skills and soft skills should architects have?

Architects have to meet a comprehensive range of requirements. Thus, a basic and postgraduate academic degree is essential. They must possess artistic design skills, which are also a requirement for the admission to start the relevant studies.

  • Good computational and spatial thinking skills
  • Good craft and drawing skills
  • A good understanding of technical equipment
  • Organisational skills and team spirit
  • Recognition by the chamber of architects

What is the average salary of architects?

On average, the starting annual salary of architects is between EUR 35,000 and EUR 40,000 gross. Employed senior architects may earn between EUR 60,000 and EUR 70,000, depending on their professional experience. Self-employed architects usually earn between EUR 50 and EUR 60 per hour at the beginning of their career. Later on, their hourly wage may rise to EUR 90.

Find your dream job as an architect – with Hays

As an architect, you have a diverse range of opportunities and can work in the public sector, at property development companies, at engineering offices or on a self-employed basis. Make use of our network with attractive employers and let us match you with the perfect position. Learn more about the benefits of finding a job with Hays!

Relevant contract types

Jobprofil
Architekt (m/w/d)

Sie suchen den passenden Architekten für den Einsatz in Ihrem Unternehmen?

Architekt: Beruf mit Zukunft

Die Aufgabe von Architekten besteht darin, Gebäude und städtebauliche Anlagen zu planen sowie deren Bau zu überwachen. Dabei geht es sowohl um Wohngebäude als auch gewerbliche Immobilien. Der Beruf ist sehr abwechslungsreich und hat viele Facetten. Hier erfahren Sie mehr über Tätigkeitsfelder, Verdienstaussichten und Jobchancen.

Wie stehen die Chancen für Architekten auf dem Arbeitsmarkt?

Bei dem Beruf des Architekten handelt es sich um einen Job, der immer gefragt ist, sich aber auch inhaltlich wandelt. Denn die Anforderungen an das Bauen ändern sich mit dem gesellschaftlichen Umfeld. Aktuell steigt beispielsweise die Nachfrage nach Experten für ökologisches Bauen. Soziale Aspekte stehen ebenfalls zunehmend im Vordergrund. Architekten sind daher gehalten, Gebäude zu entwerfen, die funktional sind und gleichzeitig ein angenehmes Gefühl für die Nutzer vermitteln. Die besten Chancen haben auf dem Arbeitsmarkt Architekten, die sich auf einen bestimmten Bereich wie etwa auf Gebäudeentwurf, Objektüberwachung oder Ausführungsplanung spezialisiert haben.

Welche Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten kommen auf Sie zu?

Grundsätzlich sind Architekten für die Planung von Gebäuden zuständig. Das umfasst ein weites Feld an Bereichen, wie etwa funktionale, gestaltende, technische, soziale und wirtschaftliche Aspekte des Gebäudes. Konkret kommen beispielsweise folgende Aufgaben auf Sie zu:

  • Aufträge akquirieren und an Ausschreibungen teilnehmen
  • Planungsgrundlagen ermitteln (Auftraggeberwünsche und Leistungsbedarf klären, Standortanalyse und Machbarkeitsstudien durchführen)
  • Entwurfsplanung inklusive Skizzenanfertigung und Kostenschätzung
  • Genehmigungsplanung (u. a. mit Behörden verhandeln)
  • Ausführungsplanung und Bauleistungsvergabe
  • Überwachung des Baus, Bauleitung
  • Städtebauliche Planungen (Flächennutzungsplanung, Bebauungsplanung, Denkmalschutz)

Welche Fähigkeiten müssen Architekten mitbringen?

An Architekten werden sehr umfassende Anforderungen gestellt, weswegen ein grundständiges sowie aufbauendes Studium Zugangsvoraussetzung zu der Tätigkeit sind. Sinn für die künstlerische Gestaltung ist nur eine wichtige Fähigkeit, die schon für die Studienzulassung geprüft wird. Um als Architekt tätig zu sein, benötigen Sie außerdem:

  • Rechnerisches und räumliches Denken
  • Handwerkliches und zeichnerisches Geschick
  • Verständnis für technische Anlagen
  • Organisations- und Teamfähigkeit
  • Anerkennung durch die Architektenkammer

Gehalt: Was verdienen Architekten in der Regel?

Berufseinsteiger erhalten im Durchschnitt ein Bruttojahresgehalt von 35.000 bis 40.000 Euro. Mit der Berufserfahrung steigt auch das Gehalt und liegt bei angestellten Senior-Architekten meist zwischen 60.000 und 70.000 Euro. Selbstständige Architekten beginnen oft mit einem Stundenlohn von 50 bis 60 Euro, den sie auf 90 Euro und mehr steigern können.

Mit Hays zu Ihrem Traumjob als Architekt

Ob Sie im öffentlichen Dienst, bei einem Bauträger, in einem Ingenieurbüro oder selbstständig tätig sind: Als Architekt steht Ihnen ein vielseitiges Tätigkeitsfeld offen. Hays arbeitet mit attraktiven Arbeitgebern zusammen und findet die passgenaue Stelle für Sie. Überzeugen Sie sich jetzt von den Vorteilen der Jobsuche mit Hays!

Relevante Vertragsarten