Job profile
Industrial engineer (m/f/d)

Current job offers

Industrial engineers: optimising processes and procedures

Industrial engineers are specialists for the optimisation of processes and the ideal design of procedures within industrial companies. They apply their engineering skills to improve their employers’ productivity, focusing rather on management than on typical engineering tasks.

Which opportunities do industrial engineers have on the labour market?

Industrial engineers have a broad range of career opportunities. They are usually not highly specialised in a certain area. Instead, they are management generalists who are sought-after in every industry and by all industrial companies. In addition, the industrial sector plays a crucial role in Germany's economy. Thus, there are many engineering jobs available, offering industrial engineers excellent prospects.

What are the tasks and responsibilities of industrial engineers?

Industrial engineers are mainly responsible for work planning: their task is to ensure efficient corporate processes and procedures. Besides, industrial engineers streamline manufacturing processes, shorten waiting times, enhance logistics systems and are responsible for remuneration, material, equipment and method planning.

  • Work planning
  • Time management
  • Technical procurement
  • Technical sales
  • Project management
  • Business consulting

Which hard skills and soft skills should industrial engineers have?

Industrial engineers require various skills and qualifications. As industrial engineers often work in teams and need to communicate with other departments, they must have certain soft skills – next to the relevant hard skills, of course.

  • A broad range of engineering skills
  • Knowledge of business administration
  • Controlling skills
  • Leadership qualities
  • Good communication skills and team spirit
  • Skills in cost and performance accounting
  • Personnel management skills
  • Knowledge of simulation and applied statistics

What is the average salary of industrial engineers?

In Germany, engineers generally have a high salary. Industrial engineers have a starting salary of between EUR 3,000 and EUR 4,000 per month. Later, their average annual salary is about EUR 60,000, which roughly corresponds to the salary of engineers in general. If they have relevant additional qualifications, they may even earn more.

Find your dream job as an industrial engineer – with Hays

As an industrial engineer, you are highly sought-after and can work in different industries. Thus, you have very good career prospects. You can help companies optimise their processes and procedures and contribute your expertise to ensure a successful work preparation.

Contact our experts and find a new job quickly! Learn more about the benefits of finding a job with Hays!

Relevant contract types

Jobprofil
Industrial Engineer (m/w/d)

Aktuelle Jobangebote

Industrial Engineer: Prozesse und Abläufe optimieren

Der Industrial Engineer ist ein Fachmann in der Prozessoptimierung und der bestmöglichen Gestaltung von Abläufen in den Industrieunternehmen. Er setzt seine ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Kenntnisse ein, um die Produktivität seines Unternehmens zu erhöhen. Der Schwerpunkt liegt näher an Management- als an klassischen Ingenieursaufgaben.

Welche Berufsperspektiven ergeben sich für den Industrial Engineer auf dem Arbeitsmarkt?

Für den Industrial Engineer ergeben sich auf dem Arbeitsmarkt vielfältige Chancen. Anders als beim Ingenieur ist die Spezialisierung auf ein bestimmtes Anwendungsgebiet weniger stark ausgeprägt. Stattdessen handelt es sich bei einem Industrial Engineer um einen Management-Generalisten, der in jeder Branche gefragt ist. Entsprechend gut sind die Berufsperspektiven. Ein Industrial Engineer findet in jedem Industrieunternehmen eine Anstellung. Auf die Berufsperspektiven des Industrial Engineers wirkt sich positiv aus, dass die deutsche Wertschöpfung einen besonders hohen Industrieanteil hat. Im Bereich Engineering existieren entsprechend viele Jobs.

Was sind die Aufgaben und Tätigkeiten der Industrial Engineers?

Der Industrial Engineer ist insbesondere für die Arbeitsplanung zuständig. Er sorgt für die effiziente Gestaltung von Prozessen und Abläufen im Unternehmen. Der Industrial Engineer kümmert sich zum Beispiel um Rationalisierungen bei Herstellungsprozessen, um die Verkürzung von Warteschlangen oder eine bessere Ausgestaltung des Logistiksystems. Neben der Arbeitsplanung kommen heute Aufgaben in den Bereichen Entgeltgestaltung, Materialplanung und Betriebsmittelplanung sowie Methodenplanung hinzu.

Die Aufgaben eines Administrators beinhalten:

  • Arbeitsplanung
  • Zeitwirtschaft
  • Technischer Einkäufer
  • Technischer Vertrieb
  • Projektmanagement
  • Unternehmensberatung

Welche Hard Skills und Soft Skills sollte ein Industrial Engineer mitbringen?

Ein Industrial Engineer muss eine Vielzahl an Fähigkeiten und Kenntnissen mitbringen. Wichtig sind neben den Hard Skills auch Soft Skills, da der Industrial Engineer häufig im Team arbeitet und sich mit anderen Abteilungen im Unternehmen austauschen muss.

  • Vielfältige ingenieurwissenschaftliche Kenntnisse
  • Betriebswirtschaftliche Kenntnisse
  • Controlling
  • Führungsqualitäten
  • Kommunikations- und Teamfähigkeit
  • Kosten- und Leistungsrechnung
  • Personalmanagement
  • Simulation
  • Angewandte Statistik

Was verdient ein Industrial Engineer durchschnittlich?

In Deutschland erzielen Ingenieure grundsätzlich hohe Gehälter. Der Industrial Engineer darf mit einem Einstiegsgehalt von etwa 3.000 bis 4.000 Euro pro Monat rechnen. Die Durchschnittsgehälter liegen bei knapp 60.000 Euro im Jahr. Damit verdient der Industrial Engineer etwa so viel wie der klassische Ingenieur. Höhere Gehälter lassen sich mit Zusatzqualifikationen erzielen.

Die besten Stellenangebote für Industrial Engineers finden – mit Hays

Der Industrial Engineer ist auf dem Arbeitsmarkt gefragt und arbeitet branchenübergreifend. Entsprechend groß ist das Angebot an offenen Stellen. Helfen Sie den Unternehmen dabei, die Abläufe und Prozesse bestmöglich zu gestalten, und tragen Sie zu einer erfolgreichen Arbeitsvorbereitung bei.

Ihre neue Position finden Sie schneller mit den Experten von Hays.Erfahren Sie mehr über die Möglichkeiten der modernen Jobsuche!

Relevante Vertragsarten