Job profile
PMO - Project Management Office (m/f/d)

Are you looking for the right PMO manager to work in your company?

PMO managers: coordinating corporate projects

The higher the number of projects at a company is, the greater is the need for a unit in charge of central project coordination, i.e. a project management office (PMO). The work in a PMO is very demanding since it comprises a wide variety of tasks related to controlling, strategic planning, project management, quality assurance and coaching.

Which opportunities do PMO managers have on the labour market?

The idea of establishing a project coordination unit within companies has its main roots in the IT industry. As the number of projects increases, it gets more and more important for companies across all industries to have an in-house team able to coordinate and monitor all projects, to derive standards based on experience and to make use of this experience for the benefit of future projects.

There is no specific training for PMO managers. Ideally, candidates should be certified (technical) project managers having completed a technical training. However, newcomers with a background in controlling or quality assurance or with a relevant technical qualification have good prospects on the labour market as well. Learn more about how Hays can support you in finding a job matching your qualifications and experience!

What are the tasks and responsibilities of PMO managers?

The key tasks of PMO managers are to manage and coordinate all corporate projects and to ensure the management board receives relevant feedback supporting them in making decisions. This requires the ability to deal with challenges from the fields of (technical) project management, controlling, strategic planning and quality assurance. Sharing experience gathered from previous projects with other employees via training sessions also belongs to the tasks of PMO managers. Besides, they are responsible for elaborating standards and routines for future projects and act as interfaces between company management, departments and project managers.

  • Strategic project management for the coordination of resources
  • Selection of appropriate project management methods and tools
  • Operational support of the project management
  • Controlling of all project portfolios and interdependencies
  • Training of project managers and team members

Which hard skills and soft skills should PMO managers have?

To be able to coordinate a growing number of projects, PMO managers must have technical expertise and the ability to ensure implementations according to plan. Besides, they need to have the necessary controlling skills and must be able to monitor both staff-related and financial interdependencies between the projects.

  • Analytical and strategic skills
  • Project management skills
  • Experience in controlling
  • Basic knowledge of standards and quality assurance
  • Decisiveness and assertiveness
  • The ability to summarise results and present them to stakeholders

What is the average salary of PMO managers?

The average annual salary of PMO managers amounts to between EUR 55,000 and EUR 77,000, depending on industry, company size, number of projects managed and region: PMO managers in the metropolitan areas in Western Germany usually earn about EUR 20,000 more than their counterparts in Eastern Germany.

Find your ideal job in a PMO – with Hays

With Hays, you will find a position in a PMO that meets your qualifications. Contact us and learn more about the benefits of finding a job with Hays!

Relevant contract types

Jobprofil
PMO - Project Management Office (m/w/d)

Sie suchen den passenden PMO für den Einsatz in Ihrem Unternehmen?

Project Management Office: Projekte im Unternehmen koordinieren

Mit steigender Zahl der Projekte wächst in den Unternehmen der Bedarf für eine Schaltstelle, bei der alle Fäden für die Koordination zusammenlaufen. Im PMO kommen Aufgaben aus dem Controlling und der strategischen Planung mit Projektmanagement, Qualitätssicherung und Coaching zusammen. Entsprechend anspruchsvoll ist die Tätigkeit.

Welche Perspektiven hat ein Experte im PMO?

Ursprünglich stammt die Idee, eine ständige Projektkoordination im Unternehmen zu unterhalten, vor allem aus der IT-Branche. Mit zunehmender Anzahl der Projekte steigt in allen Industrien der Bedarf nach einem hauseigenen Team, das in der Lage ist, die Projekte des Unternehmens zu koordinieren, zu überwachen und die Resultate als Qualitäts- und Erfahrungswerte Folgeprojekten zuzuführen. Eine regelrechte Ausbildung zum Projektleiter im PMO gibt es nicht – wünschenswert ist eine technische Ausbildung mit Qualifizierung zum (technischen) Projektleiter, auch Einsteiger aus dem Controlling, aus dem technischen Training und der Qualitätssicherung haben Perspektiven. Finden Sie heraus, wie Hays Sie in relevante Positionen vermitteln kann, die zu Ihren Erfahrungen passen!

Anforderungen und Tätigkeiten im Project Management Office

Das PMO muss alle Projekte des Unternehmens verwalten und koordinieren, wenn zahlreiche Projekte geleitet und abgestimmt werden müssen und die Geschäftsführung auf ein fundiertes Feedback für Entscheidungen angewiesen ist.

Dies beinhaltet Anforderungen aus der (technischen) Projektleitung, dem Controlling und der strategischen Planung, aber auch aus der Qualitätssicherung. Ein Projektmanager Office ist der Kontakt zwischen Unternehmensleitung, Abteilungen und Projektleitern. Die Aufgaben umfassen:

  • das strategische Projektmanagement zur Koordinierung von Ressourcen und Mitteln
  • die Auswahl angemessener Methoden und Werkzeuge aus dem Projektmanagement
  • die operative Unterstützung auf der Ebene des Projektmanagements
  • das Portfoliocontrolling aller Projekte und ihrer Wechselwirkungeng
  • die Ausbildung von Projektleitern und Teammitgliedern

Welche Hard Skills und Soft Skills sind bei der Tätigkeit im PMO notwendig?

Bei der Koordination einer wachsenden Anzahl von Projekten geht es nicht nur um die technische Kompetenz und die planmäßige Umsetzung, sondern auch um angemessenes Controlling und die Überwachung von personellen oder finanziellen Wechselwirkungen zwischen den Projekten. Ebenso wichtig sind der Erfahrungsgewinn und die Weitergabe erworbener Erfahrungen durch Training und die Schaffung von Standards und Routinen für künftige Vorhaben.

Im Project Management Office werden vor allem folgende Skills benötigt:

  • analytische und strategische Fähigkeiten
  • Kenntnisse im Projektmanagement
  • Erfahrungen im Controlling
  • Vorkenntnisse in Standards und Qualitätssicherung
  • Entscheidungsfreudigkeit und Durchsetzungsvermögen
  • Fähigkeit, Resultate zusammenzufassen und Stakeholdern zu unterbreiten

Was verdient man als Projektmanager Office?

Als Leiter im Project Management Office verdienen Sie jährlich zwischen 55.000 und 77.000 Euro, allerdings abhängig von der Region. In den Ballungsräumen im Westen Deutschlands liegen die Gehälter um 20.000 Euro über den Vergütungen in den neuen Bundesländern. Auch die Branche, die Größe des Unternehmens und die Anzahl der verwalteten Projekte spielen eine Rolle.

Die passende Position im PMO – mit Hays

Mit Hays finden Sie eine Beschäftigung im PMO, die Ihren Fähigkeiten entspricht. Kontaktieren Sie uns und finden Sie heraus, welche Vorteile der Jobsuche mit Hays hat!

Relevante Vertragsarten