WHEN WORKING FROM HOME
PROTECT YOURSELF FROM OVERWORKING

So schützen Sie sich im Home Office vor Überarbeitung

During the ongoing coronavirus crisis, many professionals have to work from home. In addition, the governments have imposed a contact ban. Some might get bored due to these social distancing measures and compensate by working overtime. Others feel the economic pressure of their employers. As they are afraid of losing their jobs, their level of commitment is even higher than usually. In the end, there are many reasons for overtime work. In all cases, however, this might result in overworking including all its negative accompanying symptoms. Read our five tips to help you maintain your health and well-being even in difficult times.

  1. 1  
  2. 1. Set boundaries

    Try to set up a workplace that offers enough space and good lighting conditions. Also, make sure you use a chair allowing you to sit in an upright position. Your workspace is your personal area – this should also be communicated to the people you live with. Besides, they should be informed about your working hours at home. During these times, you should not be disturbed and not perform any domestic duties. 

    Of course it becomes even more difficult to set boundaries if you have to look after children. Tips on how to deal with this situation can be found in our guide "Working from home with children".

  3. 2  
  4. 2. Planning and prioritising tasks

    You should start your day by making a realistic plan including all important and urgent tasks, as this helps you to focus on the right things.

    If other colleagues are involved, stay in regular contact with them to make sure that you all remain focussed and reach your goals together. Meeting for a digital coffee break in the morning can be helpful here. Remember that every completed task is a success – and successes are even more important when working from home.

    Failures, on the other hand, can have a strong negative effect on your well-being. As you might be confronted with unforeseen tasks rather often in these times, you should have the courage to say no. You should critically question whether the task actually makes sense in the current situation. Also, check if the task might overwhelm you. If you have to take on additional tasks, you should set a realistic time frame.

  5. 3  
  6. 3. Avoid distractions

    When working from home, it is very easy to get sidetracked, especially in the current situation, where red-hot news are published every minute. Thus, you should move everything that might distract you away from your desk. If you lose focus because you see or hear something interesting, it might be difficult to concentrate again. In the end, you are wasting precious time.

    You should therefore mute or, even better, turn off your private smartphone and put it aside. If this is not possible, at least turn off some services such as push notifications. TV and radio should always be switched off.

  7. 4  
  8. 4. Take breaks

    This is important in the office, but even more when working from home: take breaks and don’t eat at your desk. If you work at the kitchen table, you could use the balcony or terrace to have lunch, depending on your housing situation.

    It is important to create a separation between work and break, if possible. A short walk might also help to clear your mind.

  9. 5  
  10. 5. Rest your mind

    When your working day is over, it should actually be over. Avoid returning to work late, e.g. when the kids are in bed.

    At the end of the day, you should shut down your computer and put everything aside. If you work in a separate room, leave it and close the door behind you, and try to leave it closed until you start working again the next day. 

    Try to use only private devices for further private communication. That way, you can avoid reading work messages which could make you return to work. If none of this is possible, you can still minimise the time that you spend looking at your work e-mails. Limit yourself to checking them only once or twice a night.

    Keep yourself busy with things you enjoy. Cook something delicious, for example, or do some sports. Play with your kids or walk the dog. Your activities after work should have nothing to do with your job or the current situation. Focus on positive things instead of worrying about coronavirus.

It is certainly not easy to separate job and private life when working from home permanently. However, you can maintain a good balance with self-discipline and by applying clear and simple rules. One last piece of advice: the time you save by not commuting to work is yours. Make the most of it!

 

Hays creates opportunities
How we help you to succeed

Get to know us as a partner who will take over the job search for you on fulltime employment or the acquisition of freelance projects and who will then introduce you to employers and clients. You won't need a cover letter anymore and you will also be supported by us throughout the entire application process.

    No costs for applicants

    Advice on application documents

    Professional and discreet support

 

You can profit from
our large customer network

 

We would be happy to take over the job search for you and give you the opportunity to get to know different industries and new technologies.

 

 

 

Apply now

You can easily apply using the details listed in your XING profile.

Or enter your data here.

Please upload your application documents. Providing a link to an online profile is optional. When applying via XING or LinkedIn, uploading the application documents is also optional.

Please note: To send the documents, you need to assign a category to each document and click on the “Send application” or the “Apply and register” button at the bottom of the page.

Drag and drop files here

Select files

You have selected an invalid file format. The following formats are permitted: PDF, DOC, DOCX, JPG, JPEG, PNG, TIF, TIFF, BMP, PPT, ODT.

This document is not a genuine PDF!

Please note that files larger than 50 MB cannot be uploaded.

Please ensure that the total size for all documents does not exceed 50MB.

Upload error! Please try again later.

* Mandatory field

IM HOMEOFFICE
SO SCHÜTZEN SIE SICH VOR ÜBERARBEITUNG

So schützen Sie sich im Home Office vor Überarbeitung

Die anhaltende Corona-Krise zwingt viele Berufstätige aktuell ins Homeoffice. Hinzu kommt die von Regierungen verhängte Kontaktsperre. Die „Social Distancing“ genannte Maßnahme kann dabei zu Langeweile führen, die einige durch Mehrarbeit kompensieren möchten. Andere wiederum spüren den wirtschaftlichen Druck des Arbeitgebers. Aus Angst vor dem Verlust des Arbeitsplatzes zeigen sie erhöhten Einsatz. Es gibt letztlich viele Gründe für Mehrarbeit. In allen Fällen droht am Ende aber die Überarbeitung mit all ihren negativen Begleitsymptomen. Lesen Sie unsere fünf Tipps, um sich auch in angespannten Zeiten Ihre Gesundheit und Ihr Wohlbefinden zu erhalten.

  1. 1  
  2. 1. Grenzen ziehen

    Falls es Ihre Wohnsituation erlaubt, richten Sie sich einen Arbeitsplatz ein, der Freiraum und gute Lichtverhältnisse bietet. Achten Sie auch auf eine aufrechte Sitzposition. Ihr Arbeitsplatz ist Ihr Revier und das sollten Sie auch anderen in Ihrem Haushalt klarmachen. Informieren Sie Ihre Mitbewohner außerdem, zu welchen Zeiten Sie im häuslichen Büro arbeiten. Zu diesen Zeiten lassen Sie sich nicht stören und nehmen auch keine weiteren heimischen Aufgaben wahr.

    Sollten Sie Kinder betreuen müssen, ist es natürlich um einiges schwieriger, Grenzen zu ziehen. Tipps, wie Sie mit dieser Situation umgehen, finden Sie im Guide „Homeoffice mit Kindern“.

  3. 2  
  4. 2. Aufgaben planen und dankend ablehnen

    Ihr Morgen sollte damit starten, dass Sie sich einen realistischen Plan mit allen wichtigen und dringenden Aufgaben erstellen. So fällt Ihnen die Konzentration auf die wichtigen Aufgaben leichter.

    Arbeiten Kollegen an der Aufgabe mit, sprechen Sie sich mit ihnen ab, sodass alle konzentriert an einem Strang ziehen. Hilfreich kann sein, sich in einer täglichen digitalen Kaffeerunde am Morgen abzustimmen. Denken Sie daran, dass jede erledigte Aufgabe ein Erfolgserlebnis ist. Und Erfolge sind im Homeoffice besonders wichtig.

    Im Umkehrschluss sind Misserfolge enorm schädlich. Da in Zeiten wie diesen oft unvorhergesehene Aufgaben auf Sie zukommen, sollten Sie den Mut haben, freundlich „Nein“ zu sagen. Stellen Sie kritisch die Frage, ob die Aufgabe in der momentanen Situation tatsächlich Sinn ergibt. Prüfen Sie auch, ob Sie die Aufgabe möglicherweise überwältigen könnte. Falls Sie dennoch weitere Aufgaben übernehmen müssen, seien Sie in Ihren zeitlichen Zusagen realistisch.

  5. 3  
  6. 3. Mögliche Ablenkungen vermeiden

    Im Homeoffice lauern viele mögliche Ablenkungen. Besonders in der aktuellen Situation, in der Medien brandheiße Nachrichten im Minutentakt veröffentlichen. Daher sollten Sie alles, was Sie an Ihrem Arbeitsplatz ablenken könnte, aus Ihrem Sicht- und Hörfeld verbannen. Einmal aus der Konzentrationsphase gerissen, wird Ihnen der Wiedereinstieg schwerfallen. Letztlich ist das wiederum wertvolle Zeit, die Sie vergeuden.

    Sie sollten deshalb Ihr privates Smartphone stumm- oder bestenfalls ganz ausschalten und zur Seite legen. Ist das nicht möglich, sollten Sie zumindest einige Services wie Push-Nachrichten von Medien deaktivieren. TV und Radio lassen Sie am besten immer ausgeschaltet.

  7. 4  
  8. 4. Pausen einlegen

    Was im Büro gilt, sollte im Homeoffice noch mehr gelten: Nehmen Sie sich Zeit für Pausen und essen Sie abseits Ihres Arbeitsplatzes. Ist Ihr Arbeitsplatz der Küchentisch, könnten Sie für Ihr Mittagessen den Balkon oder die Terrasse nutzen. Vorausgesetzt natürlich, Ihre Wohnsituation lässt das zu.

    Schaffen Sie einfach möglichst eine Trennung zwischen Arbeit und Pause. Ein kurzer Spaziergang kann zusätzlich den Kopf befreien.

  9. 5  
  10. 5. Abschalten

    Wenn Ihr Arbeitstag zu Ende ist, sollte er auch tatsächlich zu Ende sein. Vermeiden Sie „geplante Spätschichten“, also die Rückkehr ins Homeoffice, nachdem beispielsweise die Kinder im Bett liegen.

    Am Ende des Tages sollten Sie außerdem Ihren Rechner herunterfahren und alles zur Seite legen. Arbeiten Sie in einem abgetrennten Raum, verlassen Sie diesen und schließen Sie hinter sich die Tür. Wenn möglich, sollten Sie diese Tür erst wieder öffnen, wenn Sie am nächsten Tag die Arbeit beginnen.

    Zur weiteren privaten Kommunikation sollten Sie darüber hinaus ausschließlich private Geräte nutzen. So vermeiden Sie es, dass Sie eine berufliche Nachricht lesen, die Sie zum erneuten Arbeiten bewegen könnte. Sollte all das nicht möglich sein, minimieren Sie die Zeiten, in denen Sie auf die beruflichen Geräte blicken. Schauen Sie maximal ein- bis zweimal am Abend nach.

    Beschäftigen Sie sich mit Dingen, die Ihnen Freude bereiten. Kochen Sie beispielsweise etwas Leckeres. Auch Sport kann helfen. Spielen Sie mit den Kindern oder drehen Sie eine Runde mit dem Hund. Ihre Aktivitäten nach Arbeitsende sollten nichts mit dem Job oder der aktuellen Lage um Corona zu tun haben. Alles, was Sie tun, sollte Sie in eine positive Gedankenwelt bringen.

Job und Privatleben im ständigen Homeoffice zu trennen, ist nicht einfach – keine Frage. Mit klaren und einfachen Regeln sowie Selbstdisziplin schaffen Sie aber die Balance. Noch ein letzter Rat zum Schluss: Die Zeit, die Sie sich fürs Pendeln zum Arbeitsplatz sparen, gehört Ihnen. Nutzen Sie diese für sich.

 

Hays schafft Chancen
So ebnen wir Ihnen den Weg zum Erfolg

Lernen Sie uns als Partner kennen, der für Sie die Jobsuche in Festanstellung oder die Akquise von freiberuflichen Projekten übernimmt und Sie danach auch bei Arbeit- und Auftraggebern vorstellt. Dadurch entfällt für Sie nicht nur das Bewerbungsanschreiben, Sie werden während des gesamten Bewerbungsprozesses von uns unterstützt.

    Keine Kosten für Bewerber

    Beratung zu Bewerbungsunterlagen

    Professionelle und diskrete Betreuung

 

Profitieren Sie von unserem
großen Kundennetzwerk

 

Gern übernehmen wir für Sie die Jobsuche und verschaffen Ihnen die Möglichkeit, verschiedene Branchen und neue Technologien kennenzulernen.

 

 

 

Jetzt initiativ bewerben

Bewerben Sie sich einfach mit den Daten aus Ihrem bestehenden XING Profil.

Oder geben Sie Ihre Daten hier ein.

Bitte laden Sie Ihre Bewerbungsdokumente hoch. Die Angabe eines Online-Profils ist optional. Bei einer Bewerbung über XING oder LinkedIn ist das Hochladen der Bewerbungsdokumente auch optional.

Hinweis: Die Dokumente werden erst verschickt, wenn Sie jedem Dokument eine Kategorie zugewiesen haben und unten auf den Button "Bewerbung jetzt senden" oder "Bewerben und Registrieren" geklickt haben.

Dateien zum Hochladen hier hineinziehen

Dateien auswählen

Sie haben ein unzulässiges Datenformat gewählt. Folgende Formate sind zugelassen: PDF, DOC, DOCX, JPG, JPEG, PNG, TIF, TIFF, BMP, PPT, ODT.

Dieses Dokument ist kein echtes PDF!

Bitte beachten Sie, dass keine Dateien hochgeladen werden können, die größer als 50 MB sind.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass die Größe aller Dateien zusammen nicht größer als 50 MB sein darf.

Fehler beim Upload. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

* Pflichtfeld